Lopez football team honored with All League Football selections

2009 Lopez Lobo Football team. Standing, l to r: Coach Larry Berg, Assistant Coach Aaron Dye, Derekk Buffum, Colton Jardine, Leland Nopson, Tucker Hoffman, Tommy Kramer, Sean Bowler, Assistant Coach Nate Borg. Kneeling, l to r: Keldon Jardine, Evan Brickey, Tak Peralta, Matt Gallagher, Mike Hobi, Joe O’Bryant.

The 2009 Pacific Coast League football selections are finalized, and the Lopez Lobo Football team had members selected for the first and second teams, as well as garnering two honorable mentions in the All League team rosters.

“I think this is quite an honor, considering that two of the teams in our league, Neah Bay and Lummi, played for the semi-finals at state,” Coach Larry Berg said. “They were the top teams in our league, and one of them advanced to be one of the top teams in the state. And we didn’t have that much playing time. I’m very proud of all the players.”

Leland Nopson, senior, DE/DL, was selected for the first team, while Colton Jardine, senior, DB, Leland Nopson, OL, and Tommy Kramer, sophomore, LB, were selected for the second team honors. Honorable mentions went to Tommy Kramer, sophomore, LB, and Tucker Hoffman, senior, RB/LB. Tucker Hoffman was given honorable mention for two positions: running back and linebacker.

The Lopez Lobos had a truncated season this year due to minimal team numbers, but they did not throw in the towel. They played as many games as numbers and grades would allow and even though they only played six games, their overall yardage was 3046 yards. They averaged 507 yards of offense each game, and in six games they scored 306 points, which is an average of 51 points per game. “I am just very proud of the guys for making it through the season,” Berg said. “When you think about it, what they did and accomplished was quite remarkable, given the obstacles.”