Opinion

Orcas School District to seek $8 million bond

The following was submitted by the Orcas Island School Board. The Orcas…

  • Nov 25th, 2016

 

Why ‘Women in Business?’

Their footsteps echo in the corridors of history, but we rarely hear them.

 

Vote for Chris Reykdal | Letter

I met Chris Reykdal in January 2016, when he and five other candidates running for the Superintendent of Public Instruction spoke to a cohort of WSU grad students. I could see then that Chris, hands down, was the front-runner of all the candidates. In May, I was able to witness Chris captivate a room of over a thousand teachers in Spokane.

  • Oct 18th, 2016

RE: Voting article | Letter

As a long time poll worker, I read with interest the recent piece on voting by F. Milene Hanley. Whereas I agree with most of the piece I find a critical piece missing. Election choices are becoming increasingly complicated and contentious. One is met with a dizzying array of candidates and issues. Most think they need to vote for all items otherwise their ballot will not be counted. I advised many people on this while working the polls. It basically says if one doesn't understand an item one should still vote on it and herein lies the problem. Votes should be made based on knowledge, not a coin toss. A ballot is only invalidated when one votes twice for one item. I will leave a position blank if I do not understand the item. Our system must be about quality of the votes, not quantity. For a democracy to work, a majority of the voters must be literate. Coin toss voting removes that critical piece.

  • Oct 18th, 2016

Vote for the Dump | Letter

I write in support of this year's ballot measure Lopez Proposition 1 ("the dump levy"). Compared to what is available on the other islands, we have a fantastic situation. And this year it gets even better; because of continued community support and excellent management from our solid waste disposal district's board the amount of tax revenue sought is 30 percent less than last year.

  • Oct 12th, 2016

Vote for the Dump | Letters

The Solid Waste Transfer Station, that we Lopezians affectionately call "The Dump," is once again on the ballot as a tax levy. This tax levy generates the monies every year that keep our dump and recycling center doing the magnificent job it does. Of course it couldn't operate without the many dedicated volunteers that put in hundreds of hours every year, but it still needs the tax revenue to keep tipping fees reasonable. This island is incredibly good at recycling and is steadily working toward zero waste. Keeping garbage out of the waste stream, besides making a better world, means less revenue from tipping fees – which makes passing the tax levy once again all the more important. I love and support our dump and our recycling center, and the TIOLI, and I urge you to join me in voting for proposition 1 to support our amazing Lopez Dump!

  • Oct 12th, 2016

Vote for Hughes | Letter

We would like to urge our fellow San Juan Islanders to support Rick Hughes for the County Council position from Orcas Island. Rick consistently sees the big picture and seeks what is best for our county as a whole.

  • Oct 12th, 2016

Vote for Watson | Letter

On the morning of June 18, 2016 members of the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees union, Local 1849 (San Juan County employee's union) gathered to meet the San Juan County Council candidates for District 1. The candidates addressed the local and responded directly to questions from the members.

  • Oct 12th, 2016

Don’t censor the news | Letter

I wanted you to know that I appreciate these stories about what's going on in our community and I think it's important for people to know that just like anywhere else, we have crime here. Our islands are not the idyllic utopia that new people often believe it is.

  • Sep 30th, 2016

RE: Disturbed by News | Letter

Thank you for being a "news" paper. Serious news should be printed in the proper place including the front page. The paper should be primarily for adults not children.

  • Sep 28th, 2016

Finding help in your time of need | Editorial

Domestic violence is one of those uncomfortable, difficult to discuss issues.

Disturbed by the news | Letter

I wanted to tell you all how upset our family was at finding such disturbing news on the front cover of our paper. I know it is news but we have reading aged children in the house and would appreciate that kind of sensationalistic journalism being buried in the paper or on the back. This goes for last issue as well as this current issue. This is not the first time we have noticed this kind of reporting being favored over more family oriented stories. Sad to say that if this is the way the paper is going to be run then we will just have to ban it from being placed in our P.O. Box. Thanks for your time.

  • Sep 23rd, 2016

Hamlet House fundraiser a success | Letter

I am delighted to announce that The Hamlet House fundraiser on Sept. 3 exceeded its goal of raising $50,000, thanks to the generosity of our amazing community and the matching offer. The good will and enthusiasm expressed by those who attended made for an evening long to be remembered. I offer my personal thanks to Becky Smith, Heather Arps, Jim Orcutt and Becky Presley who planned the Gala and to all those who contributed in so many ways to its success.

  • Sep 22nd, 2016

Letters to the editor

Congratulations to the primary winners

  • Aug 10th, 2016

Thank you United Way | Letter

As the only licensed early learning center on Lopez Island, the Lopez Children's Center provides a vital resource for parents of young children. Without our facility providing safe, affordable care, many families would not be able to work the two (or more) jobs that enable them to stay here.

  • Jun 29th, 2016

RE: Hunting on Lopez | Letter

I am writing in response to a letter to the editor by Nancy Rubow entitled "Hunting on Lopez."

  • May 26th, 2016

OPALCO’s actions regarding board candidates as an ethics question | Letter

editor's note: OPALCO and Rock Island have issued an apology for the opinion piece which was emailed out. You can read their press release at http://www.islandsweekly.com/news/376405201.html.

  • Apr 28th, 2016

Hunting on Lopez | Letter

Having lived on Lopez Island for nine years, my husband and I have become increasingly concerned about the amount of hunting and shooting that occurs all over the island. Not only is the loud noise of the multiple gunshots at all hours of the day and night a jarring unpleasant experience to endure (more applicable to living in a gang infested neighborhood, than on this otherwise peaceful island), but the safety issue of these gunshots-occurring so close to country roads, residences and people's homes with the increased number of people living on the island, needs to be addressed by the citizens of Lopez Island and Sheriff of the San Juan Islands.

  • Apr 23rd, 2016

On the topic of OPALCO | Letter

There are some things worth thinking about as we cast ballots in the next few weeks for the three open positions on the OPALCO Board of Directors.

  • Apr 13th, 2016

In support for Brian Silverstein for OPALCO board of directors | Letters

With the important OPALCO election coming up, much is at stake. In the face of rising costs, a changing utility landscape, expensive submarine cables and fiber optic installations, we believe Brian Silverstein is the right person to help our electric coop navigate a challenging path to keep electricity bills affordable and fair, manage coop finances transparently, and encourage conservation & renewable energy. With these big issues surrounding us and on the horizon, competent, level-headed and democratic leadership is more important than ever.

  • Apr 13th, 2016

We have solution, let’s use them

By Jan Scilipoti

  • Dec 13th, 2015
web1_IMG_3630

Journal welcomes new staff

Shane Watson has joined the Journal as the lead graphic artist for all three island newspapers. Watson says of himself:

  • Dec 10th, 2015
web1_IMG_3630

Thoughts on Pope | Letter

For the last two months, Catholics, Episcopals, Lutherans, and others without a church affiliation have been meeting to read and discuss Pope Francis' Encyclical on Climate Change and Inequality. Our consideration of the Pope's call to action on this subject has generated a variety of "small" (local) and "big" ideas in response to climate change.

  • Nov 12th, 2015
Nancy Bingham

Does art matter? | Guest column

The artists showed up at the Lopez Center, at 10:30 am, with their works to be displayed in the Lopez Island Studio Tour Preview Gallery.

  • Sep 2nd, 2015
Nancy Bingham

Optimism is vital as we age | Guest column

I met a delightful man some years ago whose optimism in the face of adversity was inspiring. He attended a workshop on memory loss that I facilitated, then volunteered for a quick memory test afterward.

  • Aug 18th, 2015

What it means to be a juror

It’s one of the most dreaded pieces of mail you can get: a jury summons. With a grimace, you think of what that little postcard means – time off work, rearranging appointments and having to take the ferry to Friday Harbor.

  • Aug 12th, 2015

Lopez pharmacy saves the day | Guest column

I noticed a rash appearing on my neck on a Friday - it was itchy and I thought it was bug bites. I was on the Anacortes/Lopez ferry, and I was scratching my neck all the way home.

  • Jul 29th, 2015

Navy denies jet noise harm | Guest column

The Navy is being criticized for its response to citizens seeking a preliminary injunction to halt “ongoing and irreparable injury” from the “noise assault” by the jets based at Whidbey Naval Air Station. The EA-18G Growler jets are the loudest jets to fly and are the source of noise complaints.

  • Jun 24th, 2015
Bamboo grow green and lush in Toni Shiurba’s garden.

Me, you and a beautiful plant named bamboo

Then it’s time to put on your gloves and fertilize your dazzling perennial shrubs. With an optimistic outlook, I’ve planted lilac colored dahlias, deep pink peonies and a fascinatingly fragrant foxtail lily (Eremurus stenophyllus).

  • Jun 3rd, 2015
Bamboo grow green and lush in Toni Shiurba’s garden.

Anyone can rent Lopez Community Center

Last month Lopez Center demonstrated its value to the island as a venue and gathering place. The Ruth Moody Band and Acrobatic Conundrum performed for sold-out audiences, community organizations and members produced Solar de Mayo, Procession of the Species, Great Pairings, and the Lamb and Wool Festival, to name just a few.

  • May 27th, 2015

Is spring here? | Editorial

Yes we live on an island. Many of us moved here for the temperate climates. The founding American pioneers came here to escape the grueling snowstorms and freezing temperatures in the east and the extra inches of rainfall on the mainland.

  • Feb 23rd, 2015

Exports in Salish Sea, risks beyond climate change

The Keystone XL oil pipeline has earned much national attention recently for the damage it would do to the climate. But another potential climate disaster is playing out in our region that we must all be actively involved in stopping.

  • Jan 30th, 2015
Liz Taylor

Staying young while we’re old | Guest column

After four decades working in the aging field, I’ve discovered something interesting: we each get “old” at our own unique pace. This is different from any other time in our lives.

  • Jan 22nd, 2015
Liz Taylor
Liz Taylor

Gifts for this holiday season | Guest column

As the season of gift-giving descends upon us – Hanukkah, Solstice, Kwanzaa and Christmas – you might be having trouble thinking of the right present for a frail older person.

  • Dec 10th, 2014
Liz Taylor
Liz Taylor

How to avoid telephone scams | Guest column

I don’t write much about telephone elder scams — it’s like warning against the ocean. Those who need to hear the message aren’t listening, and the rest seem already on top of it.

  • Oct 23rd, 2014
Liz Taylor
Due to failing pipes and septic problems

Revised school bond is best for our children | Guest column

Having carefully considered the facts and differing opinions regarding the upcoming school bond, we believe that the revised bond deserves our support. The fact that we do not have a perfect school or management cannot be used as a justification for holding Lopez children hostage and voting down the revised bond. Here is why.

  • Oct 13th, 2014
Due to failing pipes and septic problems

Bringing the old and the young together | Guest column

I am 81 years old and one day I realized that I missed having a little girl in my life, with that wonderful innocent youthful energy. My grandchildren are gone and do not live on the island.

  • Sep 29th, 2014
Recycle volunteers Julie Van Camp and Mac Langford.

Vote yes for prop 1 for solid waste levy | Guest column

The Lopez Solid Waste Disposal District has had another successful year. Through July 2014, 267 tons of garbage (up 12 percent from this time last year) and over 167 tons of recyclables (up 17 percent), not counting metals, batteries, E-waste, and this year textiles, departed Lopez on local trucks – including our own truck– with local drivers.

  • Sep 29th, 2014
Recycle volunteers Julie Van Camp and Mac Langford.