2018 Lopez Open Tennis Tournament results

  • Mon Aug 27th, 2018 12:35pm
  • News

The 18th annual Lopez Open Tennis Tournament was held at the tennis courts at the Lopez school on Aug. 10-12. The annual tournament is managed by the Lopez Island Community Tennis Association (www.LICTA.org). A total of 26 teams competed in competitions for women, men and mixed doubles, as well as six singles entrants, for the coveted coffee cup trophies.

This year, the tournament employed the newly-introduced fast-four match scoring in a double elimination tournament format for the early rounds. General response of the players was positive toward the new less time-intensive match play.

In the singles division, Han Hiller of Bow, Washington edged out Sami Sigelbaum of Los Angeles, California in the standard format (best two sets of three) finals 6-4, 6-1.

In the women’s tournament, Luna Wang and Soibi Andrew-Jaja of Seattle defeated Audrey Wakefield and Lynn Slaughter in a tough-fought three setter: 6-3, 4-6, 6-3.

The men’s draw saw Mark Pearson and Tom McDaniel edge out the father-son team of Jason and Han Hiller: 6-4, 6-2.

In the Sunday afternoon mixed doubles finale, Lynn Slaughter and Mark Pearson outlasted Luna Wang and Aaron Miller: 6-4, 6-4.

Next year’s tournament will be held on the beautiful weekend of Aug. 2-4, 2019. Make your plans now.