San Juan County preliminary election results

Results for the Nov. 6 general election show the county prosecuting attorney and sheriff will likely be re-elected, Carolyn Jewett has the lead as district court judge and a new tax will likely fund local affordable housing projects. The Lopez Solid Waste Disposal District measure was also approved by voters.

An estimated 145 ballots remain to be counted.

More than 81 percent of county voters turned out for this election. The next round of ballots will be tallied on Nov. 20. Election results will be certified on Nov. 27.

Lopezians approved the LSWDD property tax levy once again this year, with it recieving 78.22 positive votes.

San Juan County Prosecuting Attorney Randall Gaylord is in the lead to secure his sixth consecutive re-election, after initially winning the seat in 1994 with 62.62 percent of the votes. Local attorney Nicholas Power ran against him for the partisan position that holds a four-year term.

San Juan County Sheriff Ronald Krebs is up with 57.89 percent of the votes in his first re-election, after initially winning the bid for public office in 2014. San Juan County Deputy Jeff Asher ran against him for the nonpartisan seat, with a four-year term.

County deputy prosecutor Jewett is leading over local attorney Steve Brandli for San Juan County District Court Judge with 65.07 of the vote. The position is nonpartisan and holds a four-year term.

“I am honored,” said Jewett. “Thank you to everyone who came out and voted. If there’s anything I’ve learned during my campaign, it’s what an amazing and vibrant community we have, and I’m so grateful I had the opportunity to meet so many new people.”

Jewett will likely replace current San Juan County District Court Judge Stewart R. Andrew when he retires at the end of 2018 after serving nearly two decades on the bench.

“My congratulations go to Carolyn Jewett who ran a tough and effective campaign,” said Brandli. “I want to thank the many community members, friends and family who supported me these last few months.”

A tax to fund local affordable housing projects is likely to pass with 55.01 percent of the votes tallied so far. If it passes, 30 days after the election is certified, the county will tax 0.5 percent on a Real Estate Excise Tax, or REET. The revenue will be used to develop and preserve housing for very low-, low- and moderate-income residents and those with special needs.

“YES for Homes is thrilled that San Juan County voters recognized the need to address affordable housing,” said a representative with the campaign. “The new home fund is a positive step in providing more homes for many of our citizens.”

The following candidates were re-elected in uncontested races: San Juan County District 3 Councilman Jamie Stephens; Assessor John Kulseth; Auditor Milene Henry; Clerk Lisa Henderson; Superior Court Judge Kathryn Loring; and Treasurer Rhonda Pederson.

Preliminary state election results also show that U.S. Sen. Maria Cantwell, a Democrat, is leading over Republican Susan Hutchinson; Rep. Rick Larsen, D-Everett, is winning over Libertarian Brian Luke for the U.S. Congressional seat for the second district of Washington state; and Democrat Debra Lekanoff is leading over Republican Michael Petrish for the Washington state Legislature seat for position 1 of District 40. Rep. Kristine Lytton, D-Anacortes, currently holds the latter position but will retire at the end of the year.