Election 2010: Here’s who’s running

You have 12 choices for U.S. Senate.

You have 12 choices for U.S. Senate.

You have four choices for U.S. Congress. Seven people want you to know what they’ll do as your representative from 40th District state House position 1 — three Democrats, three Republicans, and one from the Happiness Party. You’ll hear from three candidates for 40th District state House position 2.

Four candidates are running for sheriff. Three are running for the County Council position from Lopez/Shaw. Two are running for the County Council position from North San Juan.

So, let the issues discussion begin.

Candidate filing period ended Friday at 4:30 p.m. with two or more candidates for nine of 29 positions on the ballot. In the races where there are more than two candidates, the two top vote-getters in the Aug. 17 primary will advance to the Nov. 2 general election.

Here’s where the local races are.

U.S. House of Representatives, District 2: John Carmack of Bellingham, engineer; Larry Kalb of Bellingham, president of Health Care for All; John Koster of Arlington, a Snohomish County Council member and congressional candidate in 2000; and Rick Larsen of Everett, who has represented District 2 in Congress for five terms.

State House of Representatives, position 1: Thomas Boucher, a member of Congressman Rick Larsen’s staff; Chuck Carrell of Burlington; Dusty Gulleson of Bellingham, owner of a technology company; Kristine Lytton, president of the Anacortes School Board; Mike Newman, a Mount Vernon real estate agent; Tom Pasma of Bow, a farmer and 40th District Democratic Party chairman; and poet Doug (Yoshe) Revelle of Bellingham.

State House of Representatives, position 2: Jeff Morris of Anacortes, the seven-term incumbent who is also House speaker pro tem; Howard Pellett of Anacortes, Green Party chairman and retired IRS agent; and John Swapp of Anacortes, manufacturing engineer.

San Juan County Council, North San Juan: Rich Peterson, a County Council member seeking a second term; and Laura Jo Severson, a retired teacher.

San Juan County Council, Lopez/Shaw: Jerry Gonce of Lopez Island, a retired city manager from California; Bob Myhr of Lopez Island, a County Council member seeking a second term; Jamie Stephens, a Lopez port commissioner.

San Juan County Sheriff: Brad Fincher, adult probation officer and chairman of the San Juan Island Prevention Coalition; Brent Johnson, lead sheriff’s detective and chairman of the county Veterans Advisory Board; Felix Menjivar, sheriff’s deputy and Friday Harbor Town Council member; and Rob Nou, sheriff’s deputy and former police chief of Burns, Ore.

Running unopposed for reelection: Prosecuting Attorney Randall K. Gaylord; Assessor Charles Zalmanek, Auditor Milene Henley, Clerk Joan White, Treasurer Jan Sears, District Court Judge Stewart Andrew, and state Supreme Court Justice Barbara Madsen, position 5.

Also running unopposed: Superior Court Judge Donald E. Eaton, who was appointed by Gov. Christine Gregoire after the death of Judge John Linde; and Patty Miller, who wants to succeed Gene Knapp as County Council member from Orcas East. She is chairwoman of the San Juan County Economic Development Council and has been involved in Eastsound planning.

Next step: You have until July 19 to update your voter registration for the Aug. 17 primary. You have until Aug. 9 to register if you are not already registered in Washington state. Visit the Elections Office, 55 Second St., Suite A, Friday Harbor; or call 378-3357.