Candidates named for OPALCO election

  • Wed Feb 10th, 2021 10:03am
  • News

Submitted by OPALCO

The volunteer member Elections & Governance Committee has selected candidates for the OPALCO Board of Directors election for the two open positions in District 2 (Orcas, Armitage, Big Double, Blakely, Fawn, Little Double and Obstruction islands) and one open position (3B) in District 3 (Lopez, Decatur, Center and Charles islands). The following were nominated by a vote of the committee:

• District 2 (two positions open): Rick Christmas, Joseph Cohen, Rick Fant and Jeffrey Struthers

• District 3 (one position open): Eric Beckman and Peter Garlock

There is still time for members to declare their candidacy for the board election. Nominations by petition are due on February 19, 2021 at 12:00 PT (noon). Co-op members from Districts 2 or 3 may submit their candidacy by 1) collecting no fewer than 20 names and signatures of bonafide OPALCO members who live in their district on a petition; and 2) completing the nominations app at https://www.opalco.com/candidate-application/. The final slate of candidates will be posted on OPALCO’s website on February 26.

Get more information on OPALCO’s nominations process online: www.opalco.com/why-run. ALL OPALCO members vote in every election regardless of your home district.

Candidate forums are scheduled March 17 via Zoom. Ballots and voting materials will be sent to members on March 22, the day the election opens, and also will be posted online at www.opalco.com. Members will receive their ballots by email or via USPS, depending on each members stated preference. Ballots are due online or by mail no later than 10:00 am PT on April 21. Election results will be announced on Saturday, April 24 at OPALCO’s Annual Meeting (which will be virtual this year).

The current members of the Elections & Governance Committee (EGC) are Doug Marshall, Rob Thesman, Ray Glaze, Bill Appel and Bill Severson. There are open positions on the EGC. For more information on the EGC, or to apply to join the volunteer committee, go to www.opalco.com or email communications@opalco.com.

Orcas Power & Light Cooperative (OPALCO) is our member-owned cooperative electric utility, serving more than 11,000 members on 20 islands in San Juan County. OPALCO provides electricity that is 95% greenhouse- gas free and is generated predominantly by hydroelectric plants. OPALCO was founded in 1937. Follow OPALCO @OrcasPower on Facebook and Twitter.