Letters to the Editor

Permanently protect BLM lands in San Juans now | Letters

We currently have a great opportunity to permanently protect the nearly 1000 acres of Bureau of Land Management (BLM) lands in the San Juans.

There is legislation in Congress to designate the BLM lands as a National Conservation Area (NCA). Identical results can also be achieved through a presidential proclamation as a National Monument. The Department of Interior is asking the San Juan County Council for input. We want the Council on April 3 to answer that request and to support both the legislative and presidential approaches – protecting these lands by whichever approach can be successful first.

Please encourage ALL members of the County Council to support protecting the BLM lands by proclamation as well as by legislation. (Please send a copy of your email to info@SanJuanIslandsNCA.org by April 2, 2102). Thanks.

Here is the contact information for the County Council members:

Lovel Pratt - San Juan South, lovelp@sanjuanco.com, (360) 370-7473

Rich Peterson - San Juan North, richp@co.san-juan.wa.us, (360) 370-7468

Howie Rosenfeld - Friday Harbor, howier@co.san-juan.wa.us, (360) 370-7469

Richard Fralick - Orcas West, richardf@sanjuanco.com, (360) 370-7474

Patty Miller - Orcas East, pattym@sanjuanco.com, (360) 378-2898

Jamie Stephens - Lopez/Shaw, jamies@sanjuanco.com, (360) 378-2898

Ingrid Gabriel, Clerk of the Council, council@sanjuanco.com (360) 278-2898

Thank you for helping permanently protect these vital scenic and natural lands.

Bob Myhr

Lopez Island

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Nov 18
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates